Lana News
Libyan News Agency
Latest News

India is the new chair of the International Sanctions Committee for Libya.

Pulbished on:
New York, January 8, 2021 (Lana) - The India's ambassador to the United Nations, Terumurti, becomes the new president for 2021 of the UN Security Council's International Sanctions Committee for Libya, succeeding Germany's Jurgon Schultz, who ended his mandate on December 31, 2020. The International Sanctions Committee for Libya was formed on March 17, 2011 according to Security Council Resolution No. 1973, in the aftermath of the February 17 Revolution 2011, and includes in its membership all the fifteen members of the Security Council, and it takes its decisions by consensus, and the committee prepares annual reports on the conduct of its work . On Friday, the website of the Indian mission to the international organization stated through its page on the Web, that India will also take over during the year (2021-2022) the chairmanship of the Taliban Sanctions Committee and the Counter-Terrorism Committee. =Lana=